San Siro

San Siro

Officially called the Stadio Giuseppe Meazza, the San Siro is located in Milan and is the home stadium for both A.C. Milan and Inter Milan. The name San Siro comes from the fact that the stadium is located in the district of the same name. It's current capacity is 80,018, making it the largest stadium in Italy, and one of the largest in Europe.

The San Siro hosted six matches in World Cup 1990. One was Cameroon's shocking 1 : 0 defeat of Argentina in the opening game. The other matches all involved West Germany - three Group D matches their last 16 match and a quarter final.

Location: Milan

Capacity: 83,407

Construction: 1925 - 1926

Matches: Cameroon 1 : 0 Argentina (June 8), West Germany 4 : 1 Yugoslavia (June 10), West Germany 5 : 1 U.E.A. (June 19), West Germany 1 : 1 Columbia (June 19), Netherlands 1 : 2 West Germany (July 4), quarter-final West Germany 1 : 0 Czechoslovakia (July 1)

World Cup 1990 Venues : Stadio Olimpico, San Siro, Stadio San Paolo, Stadio delle Alpi, Stadio San Nicola, Stadio Marc'Antonio Bentegodi, Stadio Artemio Franchi, Stadio Sant'Elia, Stadio Renato Dall'Ara, Stadio Friuli, Stadio La Favorita and Stadio Luigi Ferraris.