Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Stadium

RFK Stadium

Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Stadium (or RFK Stadium) is a multi-purpose venue. It opened in 1961 as the District of Columbia Stadium (often being called the D.C. Stadium) and was home to the Washington Redskins for 36 years. It took on its current name in 1969, in memory of Robert F. Kennedy who had been assassinated the previous year.

More recently the venue's main use has switched to soccer. The RFK Stadium has become home to Major League Soccer (MLS) team D.C. United and is often used by the USA national team. It was used to host five matches during World Cup 1994, including a last-sixteen match.

Location: Washington D.C.

Capacity: 53,142

Construction: 1960 - 1961

Matches: Norway 1 : 0 Mexico (June 19), Netherlands 2 : 1 Saudia Arabia (June 20), Italy 1 : 1 Mexico (June 28), Belgium 0 : 1 Saudia Arabia (June 29), Spain 3 : 0 Switzerland (July 2)

World Cup 1994 Venues : Rose Bowl, Pontiac Silverdome, Stanford Stadium, Giants Stadium, Citrus Bowl, Soldier Field, Cotton Bowl, Foxboro Stadium and Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Stadium.