Stadium de Toulouse

Stadium de Toulouse

Also known as the 'Stadium Municipal de Toulouse' or 'Stadium Municipal', the Stadium de Toulouse is a multi-purpose sports venue. It is mainly used for football, being home to Toulouse FC. However it is also used for rugby matches, hosting some fixtures for the national rugby union team. One of its most significant contributions has been to help France host the FIFA World Cup finals in 1998.

The Stadium de Toulouse hosted six matches during World Cup 1998. Five of these games were group matches. The other was a round of 16 play-off between the Netherlands and Yugoslavia, the Dutch winning 2-1.

Location: Toulouse

Capacity: 37,000

Construction: 1937, Renovated in 1998

Matches: Cameroon 1 : 1 Austria (June 11), Argentina 1 : 0 Japan (June 14), South Africa 1 : 1 Denmark (June 18), Romania 1 : 1 England (June 22), Nigeria 1 : 3 Paraguay (June 24) and Netherlands 2 : 1 Yugoslavia (June 29)

World Cup 1998 Venues : Stade de France, Stade Velodrome, Parc des Princes, Stade de Gerland, Stade Felix-Bollaert, Stade de la Beaujoire, Stadium de Toulouse, Stade Geoffroy-Guichard, Parc Lescure and Stade de la Mosson.