Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium

Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium

Purpose-built for FIFA World Cup 2010, the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium was one of five new venues built for the tournament. It is named after the surrounding area, the Nelson Mandela Bay Metropolitan Municipality, which was named after former President of South Africa, Nelson Mandela.

The stadium was used for eight World Cup matches in 2010. Five were group matches, one was a second round (last 16) clash, another was the Brazil v Netherlands quarter-final and the other was the third-place play-off between Uruguay and Germany.

Location: Port Elizabeth

Capacity: 42,486

Construction: Building started in 2007, finishing in 2009.

Matches: South Korea 2 : 0 Greece (June 12), Ivory Coast 0 : 0 Portugal (June 15), Germany 0 : 1 Serbia (June 18), Chile 1 : 0 Switzerland (June 21), Slovenia 0 : 1 England (June 23), Uruguay 2 : 1 South Korea (June 26), quarter-final Netherlands 2 : 1 Brazil (July 2) and the 3rd/4th place play-off Uruguay 2 : 3 Germany (July 10)

World Cup 2010 Venues : Soccer City, Ellis Park Stadium, Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Cape Town Stadium, Moses Mabhida Stadium, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Peter Mokaba Stadium, Mbombela Stadium, Free State Stadium and Royal Bafokeng Stadium.