Arena de São Paulo

Arena de São Paulo

The Arena de São Paulo stadium was built primarily to help Brazil host the 2014 World Cup. It is also known as Arena Corinthians and is now used to host games played by the city's best-supported team, Sport Club Corinthians Paulista.

The Arena de São Paulo hosted the opening match of Brazil 2014 on June 12 as well as five other fixtures, including a semi-final.

Location: São Paulo

Capacity: 48,234

Construction: Ready. Although reported to be 97% complete in January 2014, the venue was still to be completed. Work on the structure had slowed, partly because of an accident in November 2013 that destroyed part of the East building and killed two people. The stadium eventually opened on May 18, hosting a match between Corinthians and Figueirense.

Matches: Brazil 3 : 1 Croatia (June 12), Uruguay 2 : 1 England (June 19), Netherlands 2 : 0 Chile (June 23), South Korea 0 : 1 Belgium (June 26), Argentina 1 : 0 Switzerland (July 1) and semi-final Netherlands 0 : 0 Argentina [Argentina won 4 - 2 on penalties] (July 9).

World Cup 2014 Venues : Estádio do Maracanã, Estádio Nacional Mané Garrincha, Arena de São Paulo, Estádio Castelão, Estádio Mineirão, Estádio Beira-Rio, Arena Fonte Nova, Arena Pernambuco, Arena Pantanal, Arena Amazônia, Arena das Dunas and Arena da Baixada.